TOP politicians from Holyrood and Westminster will gather in Edinburgh tonight for The Herald Politician of the Year Awards.
In the 15th in the series of Scotland's premier political awards, the trio vying for the main honour were all elected as SNP MSPs, although Presiding Officer Tricia Marwick now sits as an independent.
Short-listed for her reforms to Holyrood procedure, she is up against First Minister Alex Salmond and his deputy, the "Yes Minister" Nicola Sturgeon who is charged with fighting the referendum campaign.
The event at Prestonfield House Hotel is a highlight of the political year.
In other categories, Scottish Labour leader Johann Lamont is among those short-listed for the Donald Dewar Debater of the Year Award, supported by NVT Group, for a series of effective performances against the First Minister in the Holyrood chamber.
Ms Lamont is up against Ms Sturgeon and Green co-convener Patrick Harvie for this award. Mr Harvie is also shortlisted for the new E-Politician of the Year award along with Ruth Davidson, the Scottish Conservative leader, who famously tweeted that she had been rejected when she tried to buy a drink at a Bruce Springsteen gig, and Tom Harris, the Labour MP and blogging pioneer.
The Best Scot at Westminster Award will be decided between Shadow Foreign Secretary Douglas Alexander, whose interventions helped stall the UK's involvement in military action in Syria; SNP defence spokesman Angus Robertson, the man planning a post-independence Scottish Defence Force; and Labour shadow minister Tom Greatrex, who has challenged the big six energy companies over soaring prices.
One to Watch, supported by ScottishPower Renewables, will be contested by Labour's Kezia Dugdale and Jenny Marra, and the SNP's Mark McDonald.
In the Scottish Local Politician of the Year award, supported by Improvement Service, Scotland's island council leaders - Western Isles' Angus Campbell, Orkney's Dr Steven Heddle and Shetland's Gary Robinson - have been short-listed jointly for the Our Islands, Our Future initiative seeking greater autonomy and powers for their authorities.
The Public Campaign or Campaigner of the Year category will be contested by Anne Houston, chief executive of Children 1st; housing charity Shelter Scotland, and Tommy Whitelaw for his fight for dementia carers.